Advisory Board

Our Advisory Board

Overarching Focus/Community Representatives:

  • Bridget Barnes, Director Common Sense Parenting, Boystown
  • Martha Bruckner, Metro Omaha Education Consortium (MOEC)
  • Ramon Calzada, Executive Director, Centro Latino of Iowa
  • Lorraine Chang, Community representative, former Board President, Learning Community
  • LaTrina Hall, UNO Service Learning Academy
  • Matthew Henkes, Iowa West Foundation
  • Clarice Jackson, CEO/Dyslexia Consultant of Voice Advocacy Center
  • Kathleen Knudsen, Raise Me to Read Metro Omaha
  • Emily Lischer, Dyslexia Advocate, Board member Phoenix Academy, College Possible, Women United
  • Sarah Moylan, Omaha Chamber of Commerce
  • Becky Miles-Polka, National Representative Campaign GLR and IA “GLR Coach”
  • Justin Schultz, Pottawattamie County Board of Supervisors
  • Deb Shaw, Recruitment Coordinator
  • Kimara Snipe, Board member Omaha Public Schools
  • Matt Wallen, United Way of Midlands
  • Mike Wolf, Council Bluffs City Council

Specialized Focus – Attendance:

  • Kathy Hanafan, Green Hills (Iowa) AEA
  • Nicole Seymour, GOALS
  • Steve Snodgrass, Ralston Public Schools
  • Lisa Utterback, Omaha Public Schools


Specialized Focus – Summer/Extended Learning:

  • Megan Addison, Collective For Youth
  • Jody DuRand, Omaha Public Library
  • Julie Humphrey, Omaha Public Library
  • Anna Hartmann, Council Bluffs Public Library
  • Rachel Steiner, Omaha Public Library


Specialized Focus – Early Learning Readiness:

  • Bradley Ekwerekwu, Learning Community
  • Renee Franklin, Learning Community
  • Portia Kennel, Buffett Early Childhood Fund
  • Kimberly Kolakowski, Family, Inc.
  • Dahlia Lloyd, Buffett Early Childhood Institute
  • Jamalia Parker, Learning Community
  • Lisa Roy, Buffett Early Childhood Institute
  • Mike Stiehl, Southwest Iowa AEYC Iowa


Health Systems Representatives:

  • Aja Anderson (Community Engagement Specialist, Charles Drew)
  • Holly Dingman (Manager), Center for the Child and Community, Children’s Hospital
  • Andrea Skolkin – One World
  • Debra Tomek, MD, Associate Medical Director, Center for the Child and Community, Children’s Hospital
  • Carol Wang, Metro Omaha Medical Society – MOMS / Baby Reads


What will have the greatest impact on our work?

~ Advisory Board Input